Skip to content

Cucumber glut: Taziki Sauce

July 11, 2011

Usually I stir the ingredients in a bowl, but today I pulverized them in the processor. Whatever works!

It’s still cucumber season. Here’s my recipe for taziki/tatziki/cucumber-yogurt dip/sauce:

1 16-ounce container plain Greek yogurt
4 small or 1-2 large cucumbers, peeled, seeded, shredded, and squeezed
2 cloves garlic, crushed with a knife several times so they are totally crushed
1/2 teaspoon salt
few grinds pepper

I use Fage brand yogurt for this, but surely any good Greek yogurt would do. If you use regular yogurt, you need to strain it, which just sounds tedious to me, so I have never tried it.

I shred the cucumbers with a food processor, using the grater disk. Then I line a colander with cheesecloth, dump in the shredded cucumber, bring the corners of the cheese cloth together to make a bundle, twist the top of the bundle, and squeeze the juice out. I’m sure a clever person would know what to do with the cucumber juice, but I let it go down the drain. You definitely don’t need the extra liquid in your taziki sauce. A bonus for squeezing the cukes really well is that then you can add LOTS of cucumber to your taziki and it won’t make it too thin. 😉

I just stir all the ingredients together in a bowl and then put everything back into the yogurt container and let it chill for a few hours. Maybe you want to add mint or dill … go right ahead.

I usually serve the taziki the first time with waffled falafel (Greek chicken is an optional but highly recommended addition to the falafel waffles). (You can follow the link, or just believe me that the recipe is: get a box of falafel mix, follow the directions to mix it up then add one egg, then cook about 8 minutes, or until you see the steam visibly slow down its escape, in a well-oiled waffle iron. Don’t forget to oil it well.)

Then eat the leftover taziki sauce with, oh, everything. Especially crash hot potatoes. Or a spoon. I actually recommend eating it with a spoon.

 

Leave a Reply

