Skip to content

Blueberry Dutch baby

July 2, 2011

I am a pancake failure. I can’t seem to get the heat right in the pan; when I flip them I mangle them; I use too  much butter or not enough; and anyway, when we go camping, my friend Mrs. Wizard makes amazing sour cream pancakes from a recipe in The Pioneer Woman Cooks, and all other pancakes are ugly and their mother dresses them funny.

So I don’t do pancakes. (Except when I forget that I don’t do pancakes, but that’s not very often and then it’s usually from a Shake and Pour mix.)

I do Dutch babies instead. Because they are easy and have a fairly astonishing payoff, and I like that kind of return on my kitchen time investment.

A Dutch baby is a big poofy oven pancake.

The quantities in the recipe all relate to the number of eggs you use. When I make a big Dutch baby for the whole family, I use a 9 x 13 Pyrex casserole dish. For that size, I use 6 eggs. For a glass pie pan, I use 2 or 3 eggs. For an 8 x 8 square Pyrex dish (or is it 9 x 9?), I use 3 or 4 eggs.

Whatever size dish you use, put it in the oven and preheat to 400.

For each egg, I use 1/4 cup of flour and 1/4 cup of milk. I have used whole wheat flour, and I have used half whole wheat/half regular, and the latter works better than the former, but of course if you’re living on the edge, you just use regular flour and try not to worry about it too much. I mix the batter in a blender or smoothie machine or food processor or with an immersion blender or with a wisk. I add a pinch of salt and maybe some spices. For today’s blueberry Dutch baby, I added some cardamom and mace. You could add a splash of vanilla.

When the oven and dish are preheated, add a lump of salted butter to the dish to melt. For a big Dutch baby, I use about 1/4 cup of butter. You need plenty of butter so the pancake can spread out and climb the sides of the dish a bit, so please do not attempt to make some kind of low-fat version by skimping on the butter.

When the butter is melted, swirl it around the dish and pour in the batter. If you want to make a blueberry Dutch baby, sprinkle in a bunch of blueberries. I don’t know how many and I don’t think it really matters, but I suppose there should be more batter than blueberries.

Bake for about 20-25 minutes until it is puffed and parts of it are golden brown. (It’s fun to watch it puff if you or your kids enjoy turning on the oven light and sitting in front of the door.)

To serve, I usually sprinkle on some powdered sugar, then cut in wedges and serve with maple syrup. Reasonable people would pick just powdered sugar or just maple syrup. Some people serve Dutch baby with powdered sugar and lemon wedges. I usually also serve a plate of bacon, which I cook on a drip pan in the oven while I’m cooking the Dutch baby.

One Comment leave one →
  1. July 2, 2011 10:10 am

    I LOVE these, and am a pancake failure, too!

    In Minnesota, we call them pannekoeken (which I think may be dutch.) I HATE making pancakes for my kids, but I will make pannekoekens all day long for my kids. I like cooking peeled apples in them the best and then adding some cinnamon.

    They make a great dinner, too. Just top with dinner type stuff instead of syrup, etc Crumbled bacon and egss on them tastes great. And sometimes I cook brocolli in them just like you do the blueberries if I am amking it for dinner.

Leave a Reply

